Home > News > Latest > Article for Media SA's
Article for Media SA's PDF Print


Action junkies can brace themselves as the country's top waveski surfers hit the Mother City for the annual SA Closed Waveski Surfing Championships over Easter weekend.  This, the most prestigious event on the national waveski calendar, takes place from 20th-23rd March with the venue being decided from the selection of Strand, Muizenberg or Blouberg beaches, whichever beach provides the best quality surf on the day.

The WP Team is hoping to benefit from the home-break advantage and their powerful squad which boasts several World-, SA Title holders and protea Team members.  WP Chairman Percy Louw, Chris Jones and Malan Calitz are on top form, WP stalwarts Willy Graser, JP Visser, Pierre Slabber and Neels Thiaart return to the WP squad this year and together with current SA title holders Gerard Wilke (Masters),  and Tracy Sassen (ladies) WP are strong contenders for the crown of SA Team Champions.  With aspirant up-and-coming stars of the future in brothers Adolph and Gerardus van Zyl and Brad Cawcett (all juniors) and Stephan Buys (new age), WP is aggressively setting the stage to avenge their loss to Border at last year's Champs at Nahoon Reef, East London.
Charl du Plessis, who represents WP for the 25th year this year, is determined settle a personal score and "take out" multiple World- and SA Champion Kola le Roux of Border who narrowly beat Charl at last year's event. This has been a 25-year rivalry and crusade and neither of these two look set to quit yet!
WP is determined to dominate the SA Champs but that aside, the 50-strong field of participants are certain to WOW! the crowd with crucial wave selection and radical and snappy high-scoring manoeuvres and a passage to selection to the National Protea squad.
< Prev   Next >